Savoy cabbage with bacon

Savoy cabbage with bacon

I probably bought the savoy cabbage I used to make this 6 weeks ago. I finished most of it, then the bit that remained sat in the crisper wrapped in plastic until it was fairly limp. I cut off the stem/core for my rabbit and made this with the leaves. It tasted great.

thinly sliced savoy cabbage, I used about 1 1/2 cups

bacon fat, I used about a tablespoon

cooked bacon, slices cut into 1/4″ pieces (optional – if you want to use raw bacon, omit or reduce the bacon fat and cook the bacon before you add the cabbage)

pinch crushed chiles (optional)

apple cider vinegar, lemon juice, or another vinegar (optional)

salt and pepper

Melt the bacon fat in a frying pan. (I prefer cast iron.) Add the cabbage and cook, stirring frequently, for a couple minutes. Add the cooked bacon, some salt and pepper, and the crushed chiles. Continue cooking until the cabbage is as crisp and browned or as soft as you’d like. Taste the cabbage and add more seasoning, or a dash of vinegar if you think it needs it. Eat. Serves 1.

Standard

Leave a Reply

