Apple-cinnamon chayote squash

I picked up 3 big chayote squash from the Chinese market today. (Marked down to $1 for the 3, I assume because each had what was probably a bad part sliced off.)

I peeled them, cored them, and sliced them thinly. (The core only looked slightly different and tasted OK, but the recipes I saw said to core it so I did.) Then I tossed them with maybe a tablespoon of lemon juice, 1/4 tsp guar gum (to thicken the sauce), 1 tsp. cinnamon, and 1/2 cup xylitol. I cooked them in a 325 oven and stirred them maybe once every half hour. They were soft after 1 1/2 hours, although I found a couple that weren’t soft enough (when they’re crisp they don’t taste like apples to me) so I might go longer last time. Since they were cooking uncovered, enough of the liquid evaporated that the sauce was nicely thickened.

I ate some with vanilla-stevia yogurt (full-fat yogurt or a mixture of full-fat yogurt and sour cream flavoured and sweetened with 1/4 tsp stevia and 1 Tbsp vanilla per 750 g of yogurt). I also ate some with oat fiber pancakes. (I think the oat fiber pancakes are better with a pinch of salt added to the batter.)

Standard

Leave a Reply

