Cream of broccoli soup

Cream of broccoli soup

This is a fairly smokey broccoli soup because of the pork broth. 1/2 tsp. of guar gum didn’t make a particularly thick soup, but I liked it this way. You could increase it to 1 tsp. for a thicker soup.

pork fat (I used the pork fat from the top of the broth – any fat or oil is fine)

1 carrot, diced

2 stalks celery, diced

1 onion, diced

salt and pepper

1 L ham hock broth

1 bunch broccoli (I actually used 2 stems + the florets from one head of broccoli because I’d used the florets from the other head in a frittata last night), stems peeled and diced, florets roughly chopped

1 cup whole milk or cream

1/2 tsp. guar gum

grated cheese (optional)

Fry the onion, carrot, celery, and broccoli stems in the pork fat until the onions are soft. Add the broth, bring to a simmer, and then cook, covered, until all the vegetables are tender. Blend with a stick blender. Add the broccoli florets. Simmer until they are tender.

Meanwhile, whisk the guar gum into the milk or cream. It will thicken as it sits.

After the broccoli florets are tender, whisk the milk or cream mixture into the soup. Taste and season with salt and pepper.

At this point I’d intended to add cheese, but I forgot. Do this off heat if you decide to add cheese. I did add a big spoonful of labneh (drained yogurt) to my bowl because I had some I wanted to use up.

Standard

Leave a Reply

