Dog treats

Dog treats

I made this after trying to crisp up the bits of pork skin failed. (They stayed chewy so they didn’t taste good to me.) I limit the salt I feed the dogs, but neither the pork broth nor the skin tasted salty to me, so I figured it would be fine for them. The dogs like them (they like everything, in my experience). One of them is asking to go out more, I expect because of the fiber content – maybe only give them a couple treats a day until they’re used to them.

  • 1 cup dried pulp from making almond milk (something I had in the freezer)
  • 1/2 cup flax flour (I think this is a fairly unusual ingredient, but I had some of this stuff in the freezer)
  • 1/2 cup soy flour (I might dry the pulp from making soy milk next time and use that instead )
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast (I’ll use brewers yeast next time because it’s less expensive and the dogs like it equally well)
  • about 1 1/2 cups pork broth (I used the gelatin-rich pork broth left over from rendering fat), melted
  • about 1/2 cup bits of pork skin leftover from rendering fat
  • 2 eggs

Combine all the ingredients. The mixture was thick and sticky – add more flour or broth if it doesn’t come out spreadable. Line a half sheet pan with silpat or parchment paper. Spread the mixture over the silpat. Put the baking pan in the oven and turn then oven on at 250 degrees. Cook until the mixture is quite dry – this took a couple hours. Cut or break the treat into small pieces. Continue baking, stirring occasionally, until the individual pieces are dry and crisp.

Store the treats in the freezer and take out a couple days’ worth at a time. There will be crumbs at the end – sprinkle them over your dog’s food after they have eaten all the treats.

Standard

Leave a Reply

