Making yogurt using a heating pad

I made yogurt using a heating pad to keep it warm for the first time today – so much easier and more reliable than other methods I’ve used! In my last house, the oven had a proof feature that kept it at around 100 degrees F that I used to use to make yogurt. I miss it!

Anyway, I heated the whole milk to 180, poured it into a mason jar, cooled it to 110, stirred in a couple tablespoons of plain yogurt, wrapped the mason jar in my heating pad and then the heating pad in a towel, turned the heating pad on to warm, and walked away. My heating pad turns off after 2 hours, which isn’t ideal for this purpose, so when I remembered, I turned it back on. I think I cultured it for 5-6 hours. It’s nicely set and tastes good so it’s cooling in the fridge now.

Standard

Leave a Reply

