Satay sauce

Satay sauce

I made this to use on Thai pizza (something I used to get at a local restaurant). I used this crust with satay sauce, roasted garlic, caramelized onions, banana pepper rings, and grated mozzarella. The restaurant uses chicken (or mushrooms, if you want it vegetarian) as well, but I didn’t have any on hand.

I based it on this recipe. I found it fairly sweet with the 1 1/2 tablespoons of xylitol – you could start with less. Otherwise, it’s great.

As for the crust, it is indeed easy to eat out of hand. It’s fairly strong tasting (not surprisingly since it contains so much flax), so the next time I make it, I’ll pack the toppings more densely to compete. I think it’d be great with a strong-tasting pepperoni. (Unless you’re accustomed to eating a lot of flax, I recommend limiting yourself to 1/4 pizza per day – I ate half the pizza and experienced an unreasonable amount of flatulence.)

140 g natural peanut butter
1 cup coconut milk (I used my half strength coconut milk)
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 1/2 tablespoon xylitol
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 tablespoons lemon or lime juice (preferably 1 heaping tablespoon tamarind pulp, soaked in 1/4 cup water for 15 minutes, squeeze the tamarind pulp for juice and discard the pulp, but I don’t have any right now)

Spice Paste:

1 jalapeno pepper, seeded (next time I’ll use 2 – it didn’t turn out very spicy)
3 cloves garlic
1/2 onion or 3 shallots
2 lemon grass (I omitted it, but recommended)
1 inch ginger
1 tablespoon coriander powder

vegetable oil

Chop the spice paste ingredients and blend until fine. Heat oil and fry the spice paste until aromatic and smell spicy. Add the peanut butter, tamarind juice or lemon juice, coconut milk, xylitol, and soy sauce and stir thoroughly. Simmer in low heat while continue stirring for about 3 minutes until the peanut sauce turns smooth.

Standard

Leave a Reply

