Coconut milk from unsweetened shredded (dessicated) coconut – try #1

I’ve read some recipes for making coconut milk from unsweetened shredded coconut in a blender with hot water. I thought I’d try my soy milk maker instead since it heats and blends. My first try was a flop. Here’s what I did so I don’t try the same thing again:

I soaked 1 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut in water for a few hours. Then I put the coconut and liquid in my soy milk maker and added water to the MAX line. Then I ran the multigrain cycle. After I strained the “milk”, it was slightly thick and translucent. It’s bland, but I drank it to avoid wasting it.

Coconut cream/fat had stuck to the blades and the sides of the soy milk maker and there were a lot of solids. To avoid wasting the solids, I pressed out the liquid then mixed the solids with some grated parmesan and salt. I spread the mixture on a silpat-lined baking sheet and baked it at 300 for an hour or so to try to make a cracker. The cracker turned out better than the coconut milk.

Standard

Leave a Reply

