Coconut-pecan cookies

This recipe, from The Joy of Gluten-Free Sugar-Free Baking, didn’t work for me as-written. I did bake 6 cookies using the crumbly batter that the recipe produced – they tasted sweeter than I’d prefer and had a dry, crumbly texture. I was using my homemade maple-flavoured syrup, which is a bit thicker than the commercial stuff I bought, so that might have caused part of the problem. Based on the spacing the recipe recommends, I would have expected the cookies to spread, but they didn’t. After the 6 not-so-good cookies, I added a second egg and 1/4 cup of melted butter to the batter. The resulting cookies were definitely better, although I don’t think I’ll make them again. Here’s the recipe with my changes.

(The book is well worth buying or borrowing from the library. I especially recommend reading the section on why they choose the sweeteners that they do. Incidentally, I also recommend reading The Low Carb Gourmet for her explanation of the sweeteners she chooses. I haven’t picked up Canadian Sweet and Low (sodium cyclamate) yet, but I’d like to try it based on her recommendation.)

1 cup pecan flour

1 1/4 cups coconut flour

1 1/2 cups generic Splenda

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut

1/4 cup melted butter

2 eggs

1/2 cup soy milk

1/4 cup sugar-free maple-flavoured syrup

1 Tbsp. vanilla extract

Toast the coconut flakes in a dry pan until they’re golden. Set aside to cool.

Preheat the oven to 350. Line a baking sheet with a silicone mat.

In a medium bowl, whisk the pecan flour, coconut flour, sweetener, and baking powder until well-combined. Stir in the coconut flakes.

Whisk the eggs, butter, milk, syrup, and vanilla together in a large bowl. Stir the dry ingredients into the mixture. The batter should be thick and sticky.

Form cookies with 1 heaping tablespoon of batter each. Arrange them on the baking sheet fairly close together. It will take 2-3 batches to use all the batter.

Bake the cookies for 6 minutes then rotate the pan. Continue baking for 6-8 minutes, until golden brown and firm to the touch.

Let the cookies cool on the pan for 5-7 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack.

Standard

One thought on “Coconut-pecan cookies

  1. Pingback: Strawberry swirl cheesecake | Low cost low carb

Leave a Reply

