Eggplant casserole

I had 5 japanese eggplant in the fridge and about 4 cups of tomato-meat sauce in the freezer so I made this.

Melt some pork fat on a large baking sheet. (I’d normally use olive oil but eggplant sucks up a fair bit of fat so I decided to go with pork fat. It tasted very nice.) Slice the eggplant lengthwise – I got 4-5 slices per eggplant. Toss the eggplant with the pork fat and season with salt and pepper. Arrange the slices in a single layer on the baking sheet and bake at 350, turning once, until the slices are nicely browned and soft in some spots, crisp in others.

In a lasagna pan, layer the eggplant with the meat sauce and grated mozzarella and parmesan cheese. After the last sauce layer, apply a thicker layer of cheese. Bake at 350 until the casserole is heated through and the cheese begins to brown.

Standard

Leave a comment