Low carb New York ricotta cheesecake

I followed this recipe, with these changes: greased the pan with the butter leftover on a butter wrapper (I don’t buy nonstick spray), increased the ricotta to 11 ounces and reduced the cream cheese to 21 ounces, and used 37 packets (the equivalent of 1 1/2 cups if they’re 2 tsp. packets, as they appear to be) of sodium cyclamate. I also didn’t use a water bath – I find them a hassle and don’t care if cheesecake cracks anyway.

The texture of the cheesecake was great, but I found the sodium cyclamate bitter. The cheesecake was also very sweet, so it might be that I used too much. Next time, I think I’ll take a page from The Low-Carb Gourmet and use 6 Tbsp. each of splenda and sodium cyclamate. (So only 9 packets of sodium cyclamate.)

Standard

Leave a Reply

