Salsa

Based on this recipe. I’m keeping one jar of salsa in my fridge and freezing the rest. If I was going to can the salsa, I would have stuck with the original recipe. (Although it seems awfully vinegary to me. I’m wondering if I can pressure can salsa to avoid adding so much acid to it – I found this tangy enough as it was.)

8 cups cored, peeled, diced tomatoes (I started out with about 4 lbs of slicing tomatoes)

1 green bell pepper, diced

1 red bell pepper, diced

1/2 cup pickled jalapenos, finely chopped

4 cloves garlic, finely chopped

3/4 cup onions, diced

1 tsp. ground cumin

1 tsp. crushed chiles

1 tsp. dried oregano

2 tsp. salt

5.5 ounces tomato paste

Combine all the ingredients except the tomato paste in a large pot. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, and simmer uncovered for about an hour, or until the flavours are blended and the sauce is a bit thickened. At this point, I though it wasn’t thick enough but I didn’t want to cook the vegetables more so I added a can of tomato paste. Instead, you could choose to cook the tomatoes down for a couple hours before adding the other ingredients. Store in the refrigerator for a week or so or the freezer for longer.

Standard

Leave a Reply

