Cilantro cream chicken

I made a variation on this recipe.

Season two skin-on chicken quarters with seasoning salt. (I make my own with equal parts salt, pepper, paprika, onion powder, and garlic powder.) Bake it until they’re cooked through. (I just reheated one in the toaster oven since I tend to cook a package of chicken quarters at a time.)

Meanwhile, fry 1/4 onion, minced, in a bit of oil until it’s tender. Add 1 clove garlic, also minced, and cook for a couple of minutes. Add 3 heaped tablespoons of cream cheese and enough boiling water to make a sauce with the thickness you prefer and whisk until smooth. Add some lemon juice and a big handful of cilantro, chopped. Cook for a couple minutes. Taste and season with salt, pepper, and more lemon juice if necessary. Serve over the chicken quarters.

In hindsight, I should have added some chives since the chives in my garden are growing plentifully. But it was pretty good.

Standard

Leave a Reply

