Flax-rhubarb squares

Based on this recipe. I’m out of ground almonds (or plain almonds I can grind) so I was looking for a recipe that doesn’t require almond flour. I didn’t find any rhubarb ones that appealed, but figured that subbing it in for cranberries would work well.

I like the balance of sweetness and tartness in this recipe, and I think that the rhubarb goes well with flax. The texture is a bit creamy although I’d argue it’s fully cooked. It tastes best toasted.

As always with flax-based recipes, remember that 1/8 of the recipe contains over 2 Tbsp. of ground flax and go easy on your portion sizes for the sake of your digestion! (Yes, I ate a piece, thought “I’d like another” but decided against based on past experience.)

I’ve been avoiding making muffins because I only have a six muffins tin, but I watched a Good Eats in which Alton used heatsafe mugs instead of muffin cups. I tried that the second time I made this recipe and it worked pretty well. (I preheated the oven with Corelle mugs on a baking sheet in it, then took the mugs out, buttered them, and filled them halfway with muffin batter. I slid a knife around the edges of the muffins after they came out to loosen them. The recipe made 6 fairly large muffins.)

  • 1 cup diced rhubarb (I chose small, pink stalks and diced them small)
  • 1 1/4 cup flax seed meal
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 large eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 3 packets sodium cyclamate sweetener, or 2 Tbsp. Sugar Twin
  • 2 Tbsp. generic splenda
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Liberally butter a 9×9 pan.
  3. Mix dry ingredients and wet ingredients separately, then mix them together with the rhubarb.
  4. Let mixture stand for 10 minutes to thicken.
  5. Pour the mixture into the prepared pan.
  6. Bake about 15 minutes (a little longer if you’re only making 12) or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Keeps up to a week in the refrigerator or 3 months in the freezer.

Standard

Leave a Reply

