Tofu-roni and cheese

I made the tofu-roni and cheese from The Low Carb Gourmet (love that book) today. I used 6 blocks of Chinese waterpack tofu that I pressed, since it’s more medium-firm than the firm the recipe called for. I used drained yogurt instead of cream cheese since I still haven’t picked up any cream cheese. (400 g packages are on sale for $3 this week at WalMart, so the plan is to get some soon.) I’m out of parmesan, so I used extra grated cheddar instead of parmesan to top the casserole. The sauce is delicious – I want to use it for other dishes, too.

The sauce separated a bit (if you make the drained yogurt substitution, I recommend adding 1/8 to 1/4 tsp. guar gum or xanthan gum to the sauce) and I didn’t cut the tofu as small as I should have, but it was still the best macaroni and cheese substitute I’ve had since going low carb.

The book recommended frying the tofu-roni and cheese to reheat it. I found that it didn’t stay together in the pan (the guar gum I’ll add next time might help with that), but it did taste good heated this way. I might mix an egg into the remaining tofuroni and cheese and fry it in patties.

Standard

Leave a Reply

