Slow cooker ricotta

I made ricotta in my slow cooker yesterday. I heated 2 1/2 litres of whole milk in the slow cooker for about 3 hours. I’d intended to heat it to 180, but my thermometer battery is dead so I heated it until a bunch of bubbles formed around the edges. (The internet suggests that slow cookers on high heat to about 215. I like using my slow cooker for heating milk because I’ve never had it burn or boil over as it can on the stove.) I mixed in 1/3 cup of lemon juice and turned off the slow cooker. I’d meant to leave it for 10 minutes but forgot about it for a half hour or so. The whey was nicely separated, so I spooned it into a fine mesh sieve set over an 8 cup measuring cup. (I saved the whey and added it to the dogs’ chicken carcasses instead of water to enrich the broth.) I’d normally use cheesecloth, but I’m out so I was curious if I could just skip it. Only a small amount of white appeared in the whey (I’d say less than a tablespoon), so I’d call it a success.

Standard

Leave a Reply

