Devil’s own luck black currant jam

At lunch, I put some xylitol and some black currants from my garden in a pot, brought it to a simmer, and then put a lid on it and turned it down to low. (How much? Maybe 1/3 as much xylitol as currants, but the amounts were decided by what was ripe and the amount of xylitol I had left.) Then I went back to work and forgot about it for 6 1/2 hours. When I was walking home, I realized that it was still on the stove and started worrying that my house would be full of smoke or burned smells.

When I got home, everything smelled fine but I took it off the burner and put it in a sink of cold water so it would cool off quickly. It looked dry, so I added a bit of water. And it tastes great! I put it in a jar to store in the fridge and use on my peanut butter toast.

I don’t recommend cooking jam for 6 1/2 hours, but I’m glad this one turned out!

Standard

Leave a Reply

